Fry Law shortlisted for TWO National Pro Bono awards!

We are delighted to announce that our team as been shortlisted for two Annual Pro Bono Awards 2018, hosted by Law Works and judged by a panel of significant experts, representatives and champions of pro bono legal support in the UK legal sector.

Fry Law has been picked from hundreds of applicants to be shortlisted for:

Best Contribution by a Small Firm award

Chris Fry, our Managing Partner, has been shortlisted for:

Best Contribution by an individual award

On receiving the news, Chris Fry, our Managing Partner, said:

“Our entire culture at Fry Law centres on delivering change for those who have been treated unfairly or discriminated against. The very nature of our work lends itself to Pro Bono support and campaigns that we know will help to deliver change in the long term – often at government level – hopefully benefitting society as well as the individuals we support on a daily basis.

“We enjoy working on cases which make a difference, and supporting charities such as Not Dead Yet, in helping to amplify their concerns and make sure their voices are heard. We campaign at the highest level of government to  to make society more accessible in conjunction with our strategic litigation. To be recognised by such pre-eminent judges is fantastic news and high praise for our team – all of whom work incredibly hard and believe in our work as strongly as I do.”

According to LawWorks, the awards ‘recognise and celebrate achievement in legal pro bono work, undertaken by organisations and individuals, and the commitment of the legal sector in enabling access to justice and supporting individuals, communities and not-for-profit organisations. The finalists represent the breadth and range of pro bono activity undertaken by LawWorks members and others in England and Wales’.

The judging panel for the 2018 Pro Bono awards comprise: Adele Edwin-Lamerton, Chair, Junior Lawyers Division; the Counsel General for Wales, Jeremy Miles AM; Chris Minnoch, Operations Director, Legal Aid Practitioners Group; Dame Janet Smith, Trustee, Access to Justice Foundation; and Paul Rogerson, Editor-in-chief, Law Society Gazette.

Chris added: “I’m very proud and lucky to have amassed such a strong, confident and brilliant team of lawyers to help our clients and support our Pro Bono work. I know they derive great personal and well as professional value from our projects and we’re thrilled to be recognised at a national level for our work. I’m also delighted to be nominated for the individual award and look forward to meeting so many inspiring organisations and individuals at the awards ceremony in December.”

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony and reception at The Law Society, Chancery Lane, on Monday 3 December 2018. The annual Awards lecture will be given by Rt Hon David Lammy MP, and the evening will be hosted by Clive Coleman, the BBC’s Legal Correspondent.

About the Author

Chris Fry

Chris is the founder of Fry Law.